We will play the following pieces from the 2021 ensemble booklet as time permits.


Solo/Small Ensemble Playing

A chance to perform / try out new pieces or revise/perfect your current playlist.  All are welcome to join in.


Performance—Cameron Sloan will play:

  • Sonata IX – Giovanni Zamboni (1664-1721)
    • I. Preludio
    • II. Alemanda
  • Capricho Arabe – Francisco Tarrega (1852-1909)
  • Danza Mora
  • · Sonatina No. 1 – Michael Stoop (*1987)
    • I. Adagio
    • II. Allegretto
    • III. Allegretto
  • Sonata No. 1 – Cameron Sloan (*1991)
  • I. Allegro moderato

Christchurch-based classical guitarist Cameron Sloan developed a love for guitar in his teens. It was not long before he discovered his passion for classical guitar and began teaching himself theory and repertoire from anything he could get his hands on. A chance meeting with the then head of classical guitar at New Zealand School of Music, Mathew Marshall, led him to pursue his passion for music at university. He now holds a Master of Music from the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, where he studied with the ARIA award winning classical guitarist Tonié Field, and a Bachelor of Music with 1st Class Honours from Te Kōkī New Zealand School of Music, where he studied with Dr. Jane Curry and Matthew Marshall. As a solo performer Cameron has presented concerts around New Zealand and Australia, featuring music ranging from 16th-century lute and vihuela repertoire to 21st-century music by New Zealand composers. In 2018, he was the recipient of the New Zealand Aspiring Guitarist award at the Taranaki Classical Guitar Summer School. Cameron has also taken masterclasses with some of the world’s leading classical guitarists – including Alieksey Vianna, Ricardo Gallen, Xufei Yang, John Couch and Miguel Trapaga.

Categories: General News.

Leave a Reply